1stPERSONTECH

INVENTING NEW MEDIA

Astrophotography – getting started

Driving home on a really nice Spring day I decided to follow my instincts to pull over and appreciate the somerset levels. Discovering a bird watching hut full of friendly ‘twitchers’

I’d never got involved in the twitching community before – where everyone is welcoming but only ever discuss the sex of the peregrine falcon in view and never anything beyond the birds being watched… But one thing struck me – these people own some of the most amazing lenses – more so than the cinematographers I know! From getting chatting to them they taught me it is also possible to attach a DSLR to a telescope – so from this encounter I have got hold of a telelscope and am now keen to follow in the footsteps of histories great thinkers and get obsessed with gazing out at the universe…

This could become an expensive hobby – but my aim is to have enough kit and be clued up enough to be ready for May 5th 2012 – when there is the next super moon – where the moon is closest and looks huge as it hits the horizon!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

